Translate

Search This Blog

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Weave a Murderous Web | Book Review

Weave a Murderous Web

Written by: Anne Rothman-Hicks and Ken Hicks
# of pages: 216

Average Rating: 4.3/5 stars
My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Publication Date: February 6, 2016
Read in May 2017


Summary according to Goodreads:

Jane Larson, a hot-shot litigator for a large law firm in New York City, is sucked into an unfamiliar world of divorce and child support when she helps out a friend. Jane's discovery of the deadbeat dad's stash of money soon unravels a web of lies, drugs, and criminal activity that keeps getting more dangerous. Soon, Jane is involved in a high stakes race to recover a missing suitcase of cash and catch the murderer before she becomes the next victim.

My Thoughts:

     I received a copy this novel for review, but that does not affect my opinion on it. 

     When I was first emailed about this novel, I was so intrigued after reading the synopsis. While reading, it took me a while to get into the plot, as there was some back story to get you acquainted with the characters. Everyone had a history connecting them to another, and it made it seem like a small-town even though it is set in New York City. I thought the characters were fairly well developed, and each contributed something to the story. You never knew who to trust, and in the end I was surprised with the conclusion. However, I was disappointed with how our main character treated the people close to her, and did not think before she acted. Considering she is a lawyer, she was slow to think on her feet at time, and would go from doubting everything to confronting someone with an entire truth. It was difficult to understand her thought process, and even though we came to a conclusion I am still unsure how we got there.

     I dropped my rating on this novel for two reasons: 1) I found it very slow to read and 2) the plot went many different ways at once. I would put this book down and never be drawn to picking it back up. I was never completely hooked and that could be because there were times where I was very confused with what was happening. I would have preferred less twists, and a more developed plot. 

     The writing style was very descriptive, which fit with our characters voice as she is a lawyer trained to notice every detail. There was also lots of foreshadowing, but the suspense seemed to be a bit overdone. Each chapter ended in what I assume was meant to be a cliffhanger, but instead just predicted where the story was going to turn next.

     This is not a novel I would typically pick up on my own, but I did enjoy the experience overall. If the series continues I would like to see more personality from Jane and more development, as well as more description of how connections were made. I am happy to have received this adult thriller, and if murder-mysteries interest you, I would recommend giving this a try!


Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Calling Maggie May: Book Review

Calling Maggie May

Written by Anonymous
Number of pages: 256

Average Rating: 3.79/5 stars
My Rating: 1/5 stars

Published on June 23, 2015
Read in February 2017


Summary according to Goodreads

She had a normal life, until one small decision changed everything. Suddenly, there were new possibilities and new experiences. 

But not all of those experiences were good.


My Thoughts


Note: I completely understand that teenage prostitution is an ongoing problem in our society, and I am not trying to say that it is trivial or unimportant. This review is based on the author’s writing style and the plot that they have written - not any connection it could have to a real-life event. 

I received a copy of this book for review, but that does not affect my opinion.

Going into this novel I was excited because I had read others like it, but this one fell very flat. I felt no emotional connection to this novel because I did not feel as though the characters were real. In my experiences reading diary-style novels, they are less descriptive but more real. 

I did not like our main character at all. She was very impulsive and extremely naive. At the beginning of the novel she was getting straight A’s and had life ambition, and yet she continued to make dangerous and unintelligent decisions. There was not a justified reason for her getting into prostitution, and I felt as though her relationship with her parent’s was an extreme form of a “first-world problem”. She was doing well in school, was participating in extra-curriculars, and after losing her V-card in a one-night stand decided selling herself was a good first job? Most teenagers I know find their first job in fast food not prostitution. She changed personalities so often, she was incredibly hard to follow.

This book took me forever to read - the plot moved very slowly. I have read the other books by Beatrice Miller or “anonymous”, but this one felt so disconnected from the others in more ways than one. The entire story transpired in about 10 months, and it felt like it took that long to read. She was living a fast-paced world and the entries would jump around so much that it was very hard to keep track of the timing that had passed. It was never descriptive enough to get excited in her life moments or feel nervous for her, as it felt almost as though she was just stating things that had happened with no further background. It is really hard for me to describe the plot except to say a teenage girl decides to prostitute after seeing a girl at school with fancy things, and even after bad things happen, she decides it’s worth it.

There was a brief editors note attached to the end of the novel, and I am not sure how I feel about it. It genuinely surprised me enough that I had to read it a couple of times to fully understand what happened, but I think it was just a way to try and make up for the lack of plot throughout. I would have rather seen 100 pages taken out of the middle of this book, and a final chapter on the afterward. 

Overall this instalment in the author’s “series” was the slowest of the bunch, and the least interesting. When I first finished this book I gave it two stars, but now that I have thought about it further I dropped it to one - I strongly disliked this novel.




Monday, January 9, 2017

AYearAThon 2017 Themes!

AYearAThon 2017!

January 2 – 8
            TBR Catch Up
            Read books of one colour

February 6 – 12
            Retellings (Fairytale, Mythology, etc)
            Books recommended to you

March 6 – 12
            Cover-Buys
            Read a trilogy

April 3 – 9
            Classics
            Read books by one author of the same colour

May 1 – 7
            Rereads
            Big books (400+ pages)

June 5 – 11
            Catch Up / Finish a Series
            Read a book with a character your age

July 3 – 9
            Translations
            Read books from the year you were born

August 7 – 13
            Childhood Favourites
            Marathon a series

September 4 – 10
            Standalones
            Titles that are one word

October 2 – 8
            LGBTQIA
            Read poetry / short stories

November 6 – 12
            Authors That Are New to You
            Read a duology

December 4 – 10
            2017 Debuts

            Read the most recent books you acquired

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - September 7, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas


Average Rating: 3.83/5 stars
Published: April 19, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Summary according to Goodreads

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - August 31, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

All In Pieces by Suzanne Young


Expected Publication: November 8, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary according to Goodreads

“Anger-management issues.”

That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center.

The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far more bleak. Savvy’s struggling to take care of her brother since her mom left years ago, and her alcoholic dad can’t be bothered. Life with Evan is a constant challenge, but he’s also the most important person in the world to Savvy.

Then there’s Cameron, a new student at Brooks with issues of his own; a guy from a perfect family that Savvy thought only existed on TV. Cameron seems determined to break through every one of the walls Savvy’s built around herself, except if she lets herself trust him, it could make everything she’s worked so hard for fall apart in an instant.

And with her aunt seeking custody of her brother and her ex-boyfriend seeking revenge, Savvy’s fighting to hold all the pieces together. But she’s not sure how much tighter she can be pulled before she breaks completely.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Fall Unhauls!

Hello all! Sorry for the lack of posts, I have hit a recent blog/reading/life slump. All I want to do when I'm not working is curl up and watch reality TV. Because of my terrible reading slump I have gotten rid of even more books, so here is the list of ones I have donated!

Books I Won’t Read Again

Brunette Ambition by Lea Michelle

Books I Didn’t Enjoy
Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics
Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuhen (DNF’d)

Books I Have Lost Interest in Reading
The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove
No Place by Todd StrasserFear the Worst by Linwood Barclay
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Endgame: The Calling by James Frey
172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
Hexed by Michelle Krys
Something Between Us by Jessica Martinez
Kiss, Kill, Vanish by Jessica Martinez
The Dinner by Herman Koch
Project Cain by Geoffrey Girard 
The Fall by Bethany Griffin
Renegade by J.A Souders
When She Woke by Hilary Jordan
A Thousand Cuts by Simon Lelic
Rooms by Lauren Oliver
Second Life by S.J. Watson

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - August 24, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone

Average Rating: 3.67/5 stars
Published: July 5, 2016
Genres: Horror, Fiction

Summary according to Goodreads

An astonishingly inventive and terrifying debut novel about the emergence of an ancient species, dormant for over a thousand years, and now on the march.

Deep in the jungle of Peru, where so much remains unknown, a black, skittering mass devours an American tourist whole. Thousands of miles away, an FBI agent investigates a fatal plane crash in Minneapolis and makes a gruesome discovery. Unusual seismic patterns register in a Kanpur, India earthquake lab, confounding the scientists there. During the same week, the Chinese government “accidentally” drops a nuclear bomb in an isolated region of its own country. As these incidents begin to sweep the globe, a mysterious package from South America arrives at a Washington, D.C. laboratory. Something wants out.


The world is on the brink of an apocalyptic disaster. An ancient species, long dormant, is now very much awake.