Search This Blog


Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - September 7, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Average Rating: 3.83/5 stars
Published: April 19, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Summary according to Goodreads

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - August 31, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

All In Pieces by Suzanne Young

Expected Publication: November 8, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Summary according to Goodreads

“Anger-management issues.”

That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center.

The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far more bleak. Savvy’s struggling to take care of her brother since her mom left years ago, and her alcoholic dad can’t be bothered. Life with Evan is a constant challenge, but he’s also the most important person in the world to Savvy.

Then there’s Cameron, a new student at Brooks with issues of his own; a guy from a perfect family that Savvy thought only existed on TV. Cameron seems determined to break through every one of the walls Savvy’s built around herself, except if she lets herself trust him, it could make everything she’s worked so hard for fall apart in an instant.

And with her aunt seeking custody of her brother and her ex-boyfriend seeking revenge, Savvy’s fighting to hold all the pieces together. But she’s not sure how much tighter she can be pulled before she breaks completely.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Fall Unhauls!

Hello all! Sorry for the lack of posts, I have hit a recent blog/reading/life slump. All I want to do when I'm not working is curl up and watch reality TV. Because of my terrible reading slump I have gotten rid of even more books, so here is the list of ones I have donated!

Books I Won’t Read Again

Brunette Ambition by Lea Michelle

Books I Didn’t Enjoy
Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics
Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuhen (DNF’d)

Books I Have Lost Interest in Reading
The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove
No Place by Todd StrasserFear the Worst by Linwood Barclay
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Endgame: The Calling by James Frey
172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
Hexed by Michelle Krys
Something Between Us by Jessica Martinez
Kiss, Kill, Vanish by Jessica Martinez
The Dinner by Herman Koch
Project Cain by Geoffrey Girard 
The Fall by Bethany Griffin
Renegade by J.A Souders
When She Woke by Hilary Jordan
A Thousand Cuts by Simon Lelic
Rooms by Lauren Oliver
Second Life by S.J. Watson

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Wanted Wednesday - August 24, 2016

Happy Wednesday!

The Hatching by Ezekiel Boone

Average Rating: 3.67/5 stars
Published: July 5, 2016
Genres: Horror, Fiction

Summary according to Goodreads

An astonishingly inventive and terrifying debut novel about the emergence of an ancient species, dormant for over a thousand years, and now on the march.

Deep in the jungle of Peru, where so much remains unknown, a black, skittering mass devours an American tourist whole. Thousands of miles away, an FBI agent investigates a fatal plane crash in Minneapolis and makes a gruesome discovery. Unusual seismic patterns register in a Kanpur, India earthquake lab, confounding the scientists there. During the same week, the Chinese government “accidentally” drops a nuclear bomb in an isolated region of its own country. As these incidents begin to sweep the globe, a mysterious package from South America arrives at a Washington, D.C. laboratory. Something wants out.

The world is on the brink of an apocalyptic disaster. An ancient species, long dormant, is now very much awake.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Books I Did Not Finish

The following is four novels that I have DNF'd over the past couple of months. Let me know your thoughts on any of these books!

Looking for Alaska by John Green

I know, I know. I am not sure if it is just me, but I found this novel to be very bland. I was excited to pick up this novel because of all the hype, and the setting of a boarding school is not one I have read often. From the very beginning I was able to guess what this great tragedy was going to be, and was not something that I thought would get better (in my opinion). 

I gave this novel up after reading a little over half (I got past the “after”), and had still felt no connection to the character. Our main character Miles “Pudge” was an average character, who did not stand out for me at all. Reading his perspective felt like I was reading observations, and that neither him or I had any connection to the story. 

I appreciate what message was trying to be sent in this novel, but for me there were too many other distractions to really understand it. After reading this novel I have come to the realization that John Green novels are not for me. 

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

This is another novel for which my expectations were very high. I have since heard that this is a novel that you either love or hate, but every review I had heard was very positive. 

When I first heard the plot for this novel, it was not very attractive to me. A teenage girl getting together with her now-dead sister’s boyfriend? No thanks. Even after reading 100 pages of this novel, and trying to understand Lennie’s grief, I could not get over her relationships. I found no appeal to either of the love interests, and wish instead that there was more focus on Lennie and her family recovering from the grief - it had been four weeks since the loss of her sister.

Because this novel is on the shorter side I had expected to be attached to the story very quickly, and was disappointed when that did not happen. 

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuhen

This is a novel that I had had on my shelves for quite some time, but had heard nearly nothing about. I know now why this was not as popular as other young adult fiction. 

This novel follows a young man who goes to boarding school in New England, because of some family tragedy that happened a couple of years back. I did not read enough of this novel to find out what the tragedy was, nor did I care enough to find out. There were different references to what could have happened, but if the cover and symbolisms are any indication - this guy thought he was a werewolf. I went into this expecting a psychological thriller, but instead I was just confused the entire time, not connected to any of the characters, and bored throughout. 

Night Road by A.M Jenkins 

This is a novel that I had not heard about before, and was interested in the cover when I saw it sitting in my library. When I started reading this I did not know that it was a vampire story, but was still interested because that is a sub-genre I don’t read very often. Maybe vampire stories are just not for me, because I really did not enjoy this novel.

I read about 100 pages of this 360 page book, and could not push myself any farther. It was told in third-person when I would have preferred first narrative so that we could get deeper into the mind of Cole, whose story we were following. I did not enjoy the way they were describing how the “heme’s” lived, and still never understood what kind of a business they were running. Overall it was a very easy decision for me to stop reading it and return it to the library.

Monday, August 22, 2016

Auto-Buy Author: David Levithan

Auto-Buy Author: David Levithan

Average Rating: 3.84/5 stars
Genres: Young Adult, LGBTQ

Top Three By This Author:

1. Every Day
2. The Lover’s Dictionary
3. Two Boys Kissing

David Levithan is one of the first YA authors that I started reading when I got back into my reading a few years ago. I fly through his novels so quickly, and are always diverse in both their plot and characters. All of the novels I have read from him are character driven, with interesting and developed plots, and pages you don’t want to stop turning. His first novel was not published until 2003, but reading his novels pretty close to publication order, it is clear how much he has grown and developed as a writer!

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares is another one of my favourites, especially in the winter, but I didn’t include it in my top three because it is one that he co-wrote. All of his novels are so quotable, I hardly have a copy that doesn't have page flags sticking out of it! If you are looking for a light contemporary with heavier plot undertones, I would recommend this author!

I own about nine of his novels, with a couple additional ones he has co-written. Whenever David Levithan announces a novel release, I preorder it. 

Friday, August 19, 2016

#fridayreads - August 19, 2016

Happy Friday!

I worked all day and am finally able to sit down and write this post. I recently got offered a job promotion so today I had to go to a different store to sign all of my paperwork - effective Monday! I am so excited! This weekend I will be going to a wedding, so any reading I get done will be tonight and Sunday!

I am hoping to finish Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier. I had taken this out of my local library but it was due back before I could finish it. I was enjoying it so much that I had to purchase it in order to keep reading. It was delivered yesterday so I am anxious to see how the story progresses!

If and when I finish that, I will more than likely be picking up Amy and Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. My reading has been off lately and I need to get in one last summer novel before I start up school again. I want to go back into my monthly TBR in order to get myself back on a reading schedule, but I will have to see how that goes entering my third year of university!

What will you be doing this weekend? Any reading plans? Let me know!